My yellowpages.com traffic costs $47 per click
Some of you may know that I previously worked at AT&T, publisher of the Real Yellow Pages and yellowpages.com – now called yp.com. When they offered the early retirement buyout I took it in a snap and started Get on the Map.
As I was leaving, I had a yp.com program for my website. Using Google Analytics, I determined that each click from yp.com and her partners cost $47. To some businesses, that may be a worthwhile expenditure. But $47 a click is NOT $47 a lead. At this point, the click is still an anonymous visitor, you don’t have his/her name, number or email address. How many clicks does it take to generate a lead? Five, ten, twenty, more? And how many leads does it take to generate a customer.
Say I’m pretty good. My website is attractive and I know that the people clicking on my ad are my ideal customers. It only takes 10 clicks to generate a phone call, and I close 20% of those to become customers. What is my customer acquisition cost.
$47 per click
x 10 clicks to make a phone call
x 5 calls to make a sale
$2350 per customer cost!
Using social advertising, $47 normally generates tens of thousands of impressions for me, 30 or 40 clicks, 3 or 4 phone calls and 1 customer. If you want to know how I do it, call Julie Gallaher at 916-265-2521.